Skip to content

TheSpartaCat went to the city, and all she brought back was this?

April 2, 2009

TheSpartaCat went to the G20 protests with one mission – to get ppl to wake up!

Climate Camp – Footage of the G20 Meltdown at Bishopsgate London 1 April 2009

And to do it peacefully.. unlike what we all saw on the MainStream Media. Some people actually care where we are going!

Nice work girl!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Dixon permalink
    April 2, 2009 9:34 PM

    I just wonder what those in attendance at the G20 are thinking of all this? Do they get it? Do they care?

  2. TheSpartacat permalink
    April 2, 2009 11:19 PM

    Spartacat, Spartacat… where have you been?
    “I’ve been to London to visit the Queen.
    The Queen wasn’t home so we sat in the street…
    …And offered the Rozzers some Teacakes to eat!!!”

    😉

  3. healingwise permalink
    April 3, 2009 3:16 AM

    Oh my dear Spartacat,

    I knew there was a good reason that Mike has such affection and kind words for you! This video is excellent; really had me smiling from ear to ear and with a violent death in my family this week, I’ve been doing way more crying then smiling – so thanks A LOT!

    I live over here in the States and Tracy Chapman’s *Talkin’ ‘Bout a Revolution* from 1990 takes me waaaaay back. Just about raised my kids on that song and the others on that great, er, cassette. Wow, that was before dvds and cds (but not all forms of cds, eh??) and such….I know I’m really dating myself now, but who cares?! My kids are young adults now and now have their own Tracy cds to sing along to.

    One question, did you lay the music down for the background to the vid or was it actually being broadcast at the demonstration? It had the feel of a live broadcast, perhaps it was a live recording?….

    At any rate, Sparta, you kick arse!!! Love ya!! Keep up the great work!

    • TheSpartacat permalink
      April 3, 2009 3:50 PM

      Thank you Healingwise!
      So sorry to hear you had such a horrible week 😦
      It is a beautiful song, (music for the soul!!) I added it to the footage myself- something about the day had me humming it to myself so it seemed to fit the mood there. (it IS a live recording!!)
      There were pockets of music here and there, people with guitars keeping the spirits up… and the sun came out, and it felt like a little bit of London stood still…. all that was missing was some buzzing bees!!! 🙂

      Oh, cassettes rocked!!! I still have loads of them… esp mix tapes… always a nice element of surprise when a song you forgot you had comes on!!
      Take care hun!
      x

  4. Astute permalink
    April 3, 2009 4:40 AM

    The troubles of walking through an airport with cash..

    Careful in the states..

    • fairflight permalink
      April 3, 2009 4:39 PM

      Astute,

      Thank you for posting the link to this situation! Much appreciated!

  5. April 3, 2009 6:38 AM

    Something strange I found in a photo of the protests! Any one see anything esle?

    SO

  6. April 3, 2009 11:40 AM

    Here is about 80 photos from the day that I took…

    http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=69002&id=7886857071

    • TheSpartacat permalink
      April 3, 2009 3:51 PM

      Amazing photos!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

